Newspaper Research Strategies Boot Camp – Saturday, 31 January 2015

Learn how to use a variety of newspaper resources for genealogy research at the Newspaper Research Strategies Boot Camp at HackGenealogy.

UPDATE: Registration is now CLOSED for the Newspaper Research Strategies Boot Camp.

[NOTE: While this Boot Camp covers many newspapers and different research strategies, around a third of the focus will be on resources helpful to genealogy researchers in Australia and New Zealand. All webinar start times are shown for Australia and New Zealand.]

Through this special Boot Camp you’ll learn:

  • Which online newspaper resources are available for Australia, New Zealand and beyond including the United States, Canada and United Kingdom.
  • How to get the most out of newspaper articles and use the extracted information for research breakthroughs.
  • Which tools work best for capturing both newspaper images and text.
  • How to find unusual sections of newspapers for clues in finding ancestors.

You’ll receive over 3 hours of educational content, handouts and freebies for the low price of $12.95 USD! You’ll also receive access to the recorded versions of each webinar for up to one year!

Register by Monday, 26 January 2015 and receive over 23% off the registration price for a low $9.95 USD! Space is limited and if you register, but can’t attend, you’ll still receive the handouts, the freebies and access to the recordings!

 

Schedule

Saturday 31 January 2015
Duration: 3.5 hours (with a 30 minute break)

  • 10:00 am AEDT (Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Hobart) / 12:00 pm NZDT
    5:00 pm CST (Chicago) / 11:00 pm GMT (London) Friday 30 January 2015
    Welcome / Meet & Greet
  • 10:15 am AEDT / 12:15 pm NZDT
    5:15 pm CST / 11:15 pm GMT
    Digging for Treasure – Using Online Newspapers
    Michelle Patient
  • 11:30 am AEDT/ 1:30 pm NZDT
    6:30 pm CST / 12:30 am GMT Saturday 31 January 2015
    Break
  • 12:00 pm AEDT / 2:00 pm NZDT
    7:00 pm CST / 1:00 am GMT
    United States and Canada Newspaper Resources and Strategies
    Thomas MacEntee
  • 1:30 pm AEDT / 3:30 pm NZDT
    8:30 pm CST / 2:20 am GMT
    Closing and Thank You

Webinars

Digging for Treasure – Using Online Newspapers
Presented by: Michelle Patient

Online newspapers contain a wealth of valuable information to enhance and progress your family history research. Resources reviewed will include English, Scottish, Irish, Welsh, Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Topics to be covered:

  • Getting started
  • Which newspapers to use (it all isn’t in your local paper)
  • Types of information available and possible costs involved
  • How to dig deeper and wider
  • How newspapers can help break down brick walls
  • Search tips and tricks
  • Ways to use the information you find

United States and Canada Newspaper Resources and Strategies
Presented by: Thomas MacEntee

While online newspaper resources are plentiful for United States and Canada research, finding the best websites and tools to collect data can be a treasure hunt. Topics to be covered:

  • Review of best newspapers resources, free and fee
  • Using Google Newspapers
  • Capturing images and information
  • Oft-neglected newspaper sections
  • Extracting information and look for clues

All registrants will have unlimited access to the recordings for personal use, including the ability to download and save the recordings. Recordings, along with the access password, will be made available within 48 hours of the end of the webinars.

 

Presenter/Moderator Bios

Michelle Patient – Presenter/Moderator

Having written and spoken, both within New Zealand and overseas, Michelle Patient brings a wide ranging background to her presentations and enjoys combining education with entertainment. Whether you are new to researching your tree or you have been climbing branches for years, her talks aim to provide tools and tips to help you not only advance your research, but to do so more easily and confidently.

Having written and spoken, both within New Zealand and overseas, Michelle Patient brings a wide ranging background to her presentations and enjoys combining education with entertainment. Whether you are new to researching your tree or you have been climbing branches for years, her talks aim to provide tools and tips to help you not only advance your research, but to do so more easily and confidently.

Thomas MacEntee – Presenter/Moderator

Thomas MacEntee

What happens when a “tech guy” with a love for history gets laid off during The Great Recession of 2008? You get Thomas MacEntee, a genealogy professional who’s also a blogger, educator, author, social media connector, marketer, network builder and more.

Thomas was laid off after a 25-year career in the information technology field, so he started building his own genealogy-related business called High Definition Genealogy. He’s also created an online community of over 3,000 family history bloggers known as GeneaBloggers. His most recent endeavor, Hack Genealogy, is an attempt to “re-purpose today’s technology for tomorrow’s genealogy.”

 

How To Register

Ready to join in this great educational event? Here are the details on the registration process:

  • Click the button above to go to PayPal and make payment or click here. You do not need a PayPal account to make payment.
  • IMPORTANT: If you use a different email address for Paypal than your normal email address PLEASE LET US KNOW! We have not way of sending you the registration link or password otherwise! Email us at hackgenealogy@gmail.com.
  • Once payment is processed and received, you will receive a confirmation email. You will also receive a link to register for the webinar.
  • Then you’ll be reminded via e-mail at least one day prior to Boot Camp.
  • Within 24 hours of the start of Boot Camp, you’ll receive the password for the webinar as well as links to the handout and freebie so you can review them before we start.
  • After the webinar, all registrants will have unlimited access to the recordings for personal use for up to one (1) year, including the ability to download and save the recordings. A password will be required to access the video page.

Questions? Email us at hackgenealogy@gmail.com.

Terms and Conditions

Please read the Terms and Conditions for all Hack Genealogy Boot Camp events before you pay and register! Click here for more information.

©2015, copyright Thomas MacEntee

Print Friendly

Comments are closed.